01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Hands up who thinks HIK-vision has the most atrocious software in the world?

Evaskitas

Hi Everyone

As a first post this is going to get quite heated so I will start by saying that my Colorvu cameras are brilliant. That’s that out of the way...now onto the software and configuring the ####### things.

I have a “low end” 7604 NVR and three cameras. All I want to do is configure the cameras to a) record when an event occurs and b) notify me when it does.....simples! I have today spent several hours while my supplier (bless him) has tried to achieve this by taking over my PC and trying to achieve the same thing.Guess what..no joy. After trying several versions of iVMS4200 which has to be the worst piece of software ever written they reverted to IE11..yes, the windows 7 one. Guess what...no joy.

I should mention, not to boast, I have many, many years experience installing and configuring networks and corporate systems so subnet masks, DNS, DHCP, port forwarding etc ( all right, maybe not port forwarding) doesn’t phase me but I have spent hours and hours to try and achieve the simple task of getting a camera to record an a event and ping me a notification.

Do I configure solely the NVR..yes says youtube..should I setup a virtual host and configure the cameras...yes says youtube. Should I go to the end of a steep cliff and jump off...yes says youtube.

Needless to say none of the above helped. So, the reason for this post...no idea, just to rant I suppose but if anybody out there thinks they can achieve the impossible remotely I will be happy to pay some “consultancy” fees, if of course you can achieve the holy grail.
Regards
Tony

Hi Everyone

As a first post this is going to get quite heated so I will start by saying that my Colorvu cameras are brilliant. That’s that out of the way...now onto the software and configuring the ####### things.