01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

HikVision “Network is unstable” problem

VistaDream

Hi all,

hope every one is keeping well in these difficult times. A newbie here with a bewildering problem.

I have a dome camera as one of 8 networked to my NVR. This camera was working perfectly for a couple of years until a week or so ago when it comes up with “Network is unstable” and shows no picture. I checked the recordings and again nothing recorded for a week. I tried via the browser based GUI as well as the HikVision iPad app.

Now, doing some diagnosis I tested the Cat 6 cable between the camera and the NVR and it tests ok both ends using a cable tester. I put another camera which works at the end of this cable and that camera also doesn’t show video. At the NVR I plugged the feed of another camera to the port for this camera (camera 8) and it displays video from this ok. So the port 8 is ok at the back of the NVR, as is the cable from the NVR to the camera. What am I missing?

I have reduced all video resolution and refresh rates etc, to no avail. I have a gigabit network so I don’t think bandwidth is a problem. It worked fine with all 8 cameras previously!

any help very gratefully received. I haven’t played around with the NVR settings much, is there something I can do here? It no longer shows camera 8 in the drop down list under camera management either.

My gut feeling would be to replace the cable.

The testers that you/we typically use tend to be unsophisticated pin-out/continuity checkers only and as such do not reveal more complex issues exposed by high data rates, POE, etc.

Sadly not able to replace the cable as it was built in when we built the house.....from the garage to the first floor ceiling, about 20 metres. Maybe I’ll try re-wiring the jacks or maybe before doing that try and send large data bundles through the cable to see if there’s any issues. Seems odd it was working flawlessly for nearly three years and all of a sudden it stops.