01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Hikvision camera fault

mrjonesss

Hi all. I've had this issue for the last few years. Had a burglary a few nights ago now I'm frantically trying to sort this camera out. I'm currently in work so just getting this thread started. When I get home later I can get all the specific details and serial numbers if needed.

I have a 4k 4channel NVR with 2x 4k turrets and 2x 1080p turrets. All cameras work, besides one of the 4k cameras. It will work for a few hours then will go offline for days. Sometimes it will randomly come back online for a few hours or days then back off for a while. I've terminated the cable a few times over the years (I'm a domestic electrician). But still no luck. Has anyone had this issue before? Thanks

Hi @mrjonesss

When you can, can you please confirm the model numbers for the NVR and cameras?

If the 8MP cameras are newer AcuSense/ColorVu cameras then it could potentially be a bandwidth issue as the 4-ch Hikvision NVRs usually don't have enough bandwidth to manage multiple 8MP AcuSense/ColorVu cameras (especially not if there are other non-8MP cameras also connected to the NVR).

Hi @mrjonesss

When you can, can you please confirm the model numbers for the NVR and cameras?

If the 8MP cameras are newer AcuSense/ColorVu cameras then it could potentially be a bandwidth issue as the 4-ch Hikvision NVRs usually don't have enough bandwidth to manage multiple 8MP AcuSense/ColorVu cameras (especially not if there are other non-8MP cameras also connected to the NVR).
I will as soon as I'm home! Thanks for that info. But when I first bought the kit in 2019, I only plugged in the one 4k camera for about a year and I was having the same issue with nothing else connected. It's starting to make me think that it's a faulty camera. If that's the case I will be so disappointed that I didn't try fix all this sooner as I doubt there is any warranty left

Hi @mrjonesss