01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

HikVision DS-2CD2386G2-ISU/SL 2.8mm - Mounting Height?

NewbieCCTB

Hi All,

Newbie here.

I have recently moved house and have decide to install a cctv system using IP cameras

In my previous property I had wireless ring cameras. Whilst they served a purpose, I started to google POE cameras and ended up down the IPCam rabbit hole!

I have ended up at the following system

x6 HikVision DS-2CD2386G2-ISU/SL 2.8mm
Blue IRIS running on a dedicated PC.
Netgear 8 Port POE Switch (as not using an NVR)

Below are few pictures of a house I found on right move that is the same layout as mine. The only difference is I don't have a side alley on the right hand side of the house and my Extension is the full width of the house so I haven't added cameras down the right hand side in my layout

Are the camera locations I am proposing right? are 2.8mm ones fine for what I am looking at or should I be getting a 12mm lens one above the front door?

Will also be getting a doorbell as well so maybe that would be best for capturing faces near there? all the walls are currently stripped and waiting to be plastered so I am planning to run the cat 6 cables to these locations next week. thanks for any help in advance.

Attachments

• 202865_103356001961_IMG_09_0000.jpeg
    202865_103356001961_IMG_09_0000.jpeg
    207.9 KB · Views: 226
  • 202865_103356001961_IMG_08_0000.jpeg
    202865_103356001961_IMG_08_0000.jpeg
    146.6 KB · Views: 215
  • Screenshot 2023-09-02 at 22.37.08.png
    Screenshot 2023-09-02 at 22.37.08.png
    2.4 MB · Views: 225
Hi @NewbieCCTB

Your proposed positions are good :)

If you are concerned about cameras 3 and 4 getting vandalised, you could mount these higher up on the first-floor wall behind where you currently have them, but you would need to use a longer focal length (probably 6mm or a varifocal camera) to keep the roof out of shot.